My Bucket List of Indie/Independent films

A list of films I probably should have seen already/ I’ve always wanted to see/ Have been recommended to me.

To broaden my film knowledge horizon I feel there are a number, ten to be precise, of films I really want and probably need to see.  I’ve watched the indie classics, A Clockwork Orange, Pulp Fiction, Trainspotting; to name a few, yet I feel they are only the tip of the iceberg. After looking through definitive ‘TOP 50’ lists, I feel I’ve come to a neat list of ten films I can’t wait to watch and review over the next few weeks.

1) The Triplets of Belleville. Directed by Sylvain Chomet. 2003.

The only image of The Triplets of Belleville I have wedged in my mind is that of three fat, middle-aged ladies riding a bicycle. The animation was caricature-esque and frankly, a little bit scary. I’d heard Jonathan Ross review it on Film 2003 and have been fascinated by it ever since. However, whenever I tried to find it in HMV or Virgin (back when it was still open); the sales assistants had either never heard of it and looked at me as if I was crazy or, it wasn’t in stock. So, gradually over time I forgot about it. It wasn’t until I recently watched The Illusionist (also directed by Sylvian Chomet) that it triggered the memory of three fat, middle-aged ladies riding a bicycle. With some frantic searching on google and eager clicking on websites I was re-united with the title again – The Triplets of Belleville. I can’t wait to watch this film!

The_Triplets_of_Belleville_615x3001

2) Being John Malkovich. Directed by Spike Jonze. 1999.

Simple Lennie Small in Of Mice and Men. Righteous Reverend Briegleb in Changeling. Crazed Osborne Cox in Burn After Reading. Who exactly is John Malkovich? Maybe this film will be able to give me the answers.

3) Sideways. Directed by Alexander Pope. 2004.

A film that affected the sales of wine must be very persuasive…

4) Requiem for a Dream. Directed by Darren Aronofsky. 2000.

A film intertwining different perceptions, each one addled by their individual drug addictions. Different story lines and perceptions interlinked are always good ingredients for a complex story, but adding the confusion of addiction and delusion will definitely make this an extremely thrilling storyline.

5) Apocalypse Now. Directed by Francis Ford Coppola. 1979.

A film that includes a reading of The Hollow Men by Marlon Brando – the notorious scene I’ve always wanted to watch.

6) Hunger. Directed by Steve McQueen. 2008.

An artistically shot film about the harsh 1981 Irish Hunger Strikes in prison and an acclaimed performance by Michael Fassbender. Another one on my “always wanted to watch” list.

7) Shadows. Directed by John Cassevetes. 1959.

A film that was very ahead of its time, displaying inter-racial issues in the 1950’s Beat scene of New York.

8) Donnie Darko. Directed by Richard Kelly. 2001.

A darker version of Harvey? Okay, I’ll give it a try.

9) Eraserhead. Directed by David Lynch. 1997.

After reading list after list of “The best of” or “top 100”, I found this one to always be in the top 10. I think the trailer says it all…it looks, to put it nicely, completely mental. Nightmarish? Probably. The advert alone freaks me out!

10) 127 Hours. Directed by Danny Boyle. 2010.

One of my favourite films is Trainspotting, so it made sense to include a film by Danny Boyle that I haven’t watched yet.

Will some, or all, of these films change my view on the world? Or, simply make for a wasted evening viewing? Only time will tell when I review each one of these films individually over the next few weeks!

2 thoughts on “My Bucket List of Indie/Independent films

Leave a Reply

